Christmas was awesome! "The Year of the Train!" for the kids (Thomas the Train track sets and a table just for them and more cars than you can shake a stick) and "The Year of the Tech" for Mommy & Daddy (digital camera, camcorder, new computer).
Christmas eve was 4pm Family service with GG & Papa & Great Grandad followed by getting the kids fed and in bed and the adults having Jamey's Gumbo -- mmmmmmmm!
We did "Santa stuff" at our house before going to the Holt's on Christmas day for a big breakfast (biscuits / gravy / meat / eggs) and a Duck Dinner! Just a wonderful day of family.
Friday (12/26) is the annual "Wilson/Holt/Foster" women's post-Christmas shopping adventure. I was relieved that Billy was healthy so I didn't have to fill in for post-holiday shopping again. I had a great time with J on Black Friday, but I know she has more fun with her Mom & I enjoy having the day with the kids.
Saturday 12/27 was Lamb's Players Festibal of Christmas in Coronado with the Holts. A great play and a wonderful dinner.
Sunday 12/28 Granny & Grandpa came down and we got to do Christmas all over again -- more trains, the aftorementioned camcorder, Jamey's magic Gumbo (yep, I was forced to eat it again).
Monday we started putting Christmas decorations away, well, actually Jamey spent all day doing it, I helped a little, and then had a "Highlander Reunion" - 6 of the guys that I played hockey with in college got together in Oceanside for dinner. It was enjoyable and "colorful" as only hockey players can be.
Tuesday the GG & Papa & Grandad watched the kids while J & I had a day to ourselves. We had breakfast at a place we'd been wanting to try, saw a movie (7 Pounds with Will Smith - I'd give it 3/4 of a thumbs up - great premise, mostly well executed, but 2 really hard to swallow "lack or reality" problems. No spoilers here, but e-mail me if you've seen it and want to know what bothers me or if you think you know what bothers me), had a cup of coffee and read for an hour and a half (in peace and quiet), and went to our favorite restuarant (Taka). A REALLY nice day.
Wednesday 12/31 we just had a nice family day. J went to bed about 10pm, I stayed up until 2am playing my new computer game. Yes, I still think I'm 19.
New Year's Day we took the kids to the park for a while and J ended up going to bed about 9pm saying "I'm not sure if I'm not feeling good or just totally exhausted." Turns out she wasn't feeling good and spent all Friday and Saturday in bed. Sunday she was up and feeling a little better, but took it easy.
Monday back to work and happy birthday to me! My wife & I had a quiet Pizza dinner in front of one of our favorite guilty pleasure TV shows (no, I'm not saying which one). We went to bed about 10.
2008 was a tough one for me professionally. Work was very bad from January until July. I was working insane hours and spent more nights than I care to admit sleeping in my office or at the hotel around the corner form work.
Fortunately in July I started my new job and its been great. In November I started playing hockey again and its great to be back at it. I'm hoping the momentum from the last few months of 2008 carries over and 2009 turns into a fantastic year.